Some of our courses can lead to Regulated Qualifications and are listed below:


Course Title




Canine and Feline Industries Foundation Degree (FdSc.) in partnership with Moulton College 


Accreditation levels credits



VNN1 Certificate in Canine and Feline Veterinary Health Nutrition

Accreditation levels credits



CAN2: Certificate in Companion Animal Nutrition Accreditation levels credits 3 15
VNB1: Award in Canine and Feline Behaviour Management in Veterinary Nursing Accreditation levels credits 3 12


Students undertaking any of these courses whose assessments reach the required standards will be awarded a Regulated Qualification at the Level described on the Government's Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF). What this means to you is explained below.


Ofqual regulates qualifications, examinations and assessments in England and vocational qualifications in Northern Ireland. It is Ofqual's duty to ensure learners get the results their work deserves and that their qualifications are valued and understood now and in the future. Ofqual is responsible for regulating assessments and qualifications taken by learners of all ages, including National Curriculum assessments, GCSEs, A levels, the Diploma and vocational qualifications.


Certa became an Awarding Organisation in 2010. Certa is licensed to accredit RCF learning from Entry Level to Level 8. Certa is a not-for-profit organisation, a registered charity and continues to promote its charitable objectives. Certa supports learning by recognising achievement through credit-based courses and qualifications, offering a range of services and products designed to promote widening participation and skills developments for learners of all ages.


Qualification award and credit values




The Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) is the national credit transfer system for education qualification in England, Northern Ireland and Wales.


Every unit and qualification in the framework has a credit value where one credit represents 10 hours of learning time including formal coursework, reading and research. The number of credits earned defines three distinct bands:

  • Awards (1 to 12 credits)
  • Certificates (13 to 36 credits)
  • Diplomas (37 credits or more)

In addition, each qualification has a level of difficulty, from Entry level at the bottom to Level 8 at the top, as shown on the diagram below. Qualifications at the same Level have the same level of demand/difficulty; however the content and the size of qualifications at the same Level may be different.